Re.Mark

My Life As A Blog

TF#I Friday #4 : In which I count some words

leave a comment »

For a recent MSDN Flash article I wrote some simple code to calculate word frequency in C#.  As I get to grips with F#, I’m learning that the most rewarding but also the most difficult aspect is to think in a more functional way.  To count words in an imperative style (as I did in my C# example) I would iterate through a collection of words and keep a running count.  And, of course, you could write code in F# to do that.  But what would be the point?  How about approaching it in a different fashion?  So, with those questions in mind, I fired up Visual Studio and went about trying to bend my brain into a more F# like shape.  One of the things I like about F# is F# Interactive – a REPL which makes trying out and learning F# (as well as prototyping) easy – so that was where I started.  First thing I needed to do was to create a list of words (since at this stage I’m concerned simply with calculating frequency and not reading files or strings.)  It’s fairly simple to do that in F#:

let words = ["the"; "cat"; "sat"; "on"; "the"; "mat"];;

(the double semicolons are signal to F# Interactive the completion of a statement.)  After reading a bit about processing sequences in F#, I spotted that there is a function to count elements in a list – it can easily be used against the whole list like this:

let count = words |> Seq.countBy(fun x -> x);;

The countBy function takes a function to generate a key – in this case we can use each individual word.  To see if that has worked, we can print out the contents of the result:

printfn "%A" count;;

And in this case, I got the following result:

seq [("the", 2); ("cat", 1); ("sat", 1); ("on", 1); …]
val it : unit = ()

Which means it worked as intended.  There’s work to be done to make it the equivalent of the C# code, but the core counting is implemented in one line of code.

Written by remark

March 4, 2011 at 5:09 pm

Posted in .NET, c#, Development, F#, Languages

Leave a Reply

