Re.Mark

My Life As A Blog

TechDays 2010

leave a comment »

Yesterday I was at TechDays 2010, where I presented a session on what’s new in VB 10 and C# 4.0.   Before diving into the new features, I talked about the trends in language design and evolution – for those who are interested, I’d take a look at this session where Anders Hejlsberg goes into far more detail.  Next I picked out a few personal highlights of what’s new in .NET 4.0 – including Code Contracts, Tuples and In-Process Side-By-Side Execution and talked briefly about co-evolution.  The new VB features I talked about were Auto-implemented Properties, Implicit Line Continuation, Collection Initializers and Statement Lambdas.  The new C# features I discussed were Optional and Named Parameters and Dynamically Typed Objects – of course no discussion of Dynamically Typed Objects would be complete without mentioning the Dynamic Language Runtime and I also talked about ExpandoObject and DynamicObject and how both C# and VB can use this new dynamic capability.  The last two features are new to both C# and VB: Improved COM Interoperability and Co- and Contra-Variance.

And for those of you who couldn’t make the event (and, thinking about it, for those who could, too), I’d suggest taking a look at the Underbelly backstage videos of day one and day two.

Written by remark

April 14, 2010 at 5:39 pm

Leave a Reply

