Re.Mark

My Life As A Blog

Ruby Tuesday #3 : Surveying the Rubyverse

with one comment

Last week, I installed Ruby on a PC and on a Mac.  I installed what is often called MatzRuby or MRI (Matz’s Ruby Interpreter) – but there are other implementations of Ruby.  I was already aware of IronRuby and JRuby.  Via this post on RubyInside, I found this post by Charles Nutter that covers the implementations that are available.  I’m mostly interested in MatzRuby and IronRuby, but it’s good to know what else is available, what stage they are at and so forth.

Having installed Ruby, the next thing that many of us would look for is an IDE.  You don’t need an IDE for Ruby, a text editor (preferably with syntax highlighting) will suffice.  Being new to Ruby, I don’t know whether I’ll plump for a Ruby IDE in the longer term.  There’s an interesting question here about programming habits – which come from your experience and preference and which come from the language you are trying to learn.  There are a number of IDEs for those interested – Sapphire in Steel puts Ruby into Visual Studio, and there’s a ruby specific version of NetBeans.  There is, no doubt, some way of editing Ruby in Eclipse, but I haven’t looked yet (I’ve used Eclipse before and it feels a little unwieldy to me, so the idea of Eclipse for Ruby seems somehow wrong to me.) For now, I’m going to be using a combination of text editors and IDEs to see what fits.

Written by remark

April 29, 2008 at 3:03 pm

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. IMHO, Textmate rocks for ruby hacking on a Mac. Look no further.

    Matt Wynne

    April 29, 2008 at 10:05 pm


Leave a Reply

