Re.Mark

My Life As A Blog

Backing up OS X command-line style

with one comment

I bought an external drive recently.  I bought it partly to back up the files on my main computer – a trusty Mac.  It came bundled with Retrospect Express.  I’ve tried to use Retrospect Express, but we don’t get along too well.  Before I got the drive, I’d read about using rsync to backup OS X.  So, I thought I’d give that a go.  I followed the instructions here.  Works a treat, and simple as you like.  Sometimes the command line is all you need.  For the easily scared among you, keep your eyes averted from the following warning to be found towards the bottom of the article:

Using command line utilities without experience can have unpredictable consequences including loss of data.

Written by remark

July 30, 2007 at 10:46 pm

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Mark, I used RsyncX for backing up on my mac. It’s an implementation of rsync, but with a GUI instead of the command line retro.

    Al

    July 31, 2007 at 9:43 am


Leave a Reply

