Re.Mark

My Life As A Blog

Synapse

leave a comment »

I came across Synapse yesterday.  There’s a good overview of Synapse on the IBM site here.  This morning I downloaded the 1.0 release and followed a few of the many examples.  The first observation is that Synapse starts up quickly and the samples I tried worked.  The second observation is that it seems very powerful – especially the ability to specify dynamic elements of the configuration in external XML files (here‘s an example.)  You can also use languages like Javascript, Ruby and Python to extend Synapse, courtesy of the Bean Scripting Frameworkhere‘s an example using Ruby.

So, first impressions are good.  This is a framework that doesn’t get in the way and works as I’d hope.  I’ve looked at other ESBs and they’ve either made my eyes bleed because of their complexity or I couldn’t really see that they would play nicely with .NET – ok, they all play nicely with .NET if you restrict yourself to web services, but then you lose so much of what many ESBs offer.

Written by remark

June 23, 2007 at 10:06 am

Leave a Reply

