Re.Mark

My Life As A Blog

VS 2005 SP1

leave a comment »

3 letters and 5 digits that should strike fear into the hearts of those who are foolish enough to try to install Service Pack 1 for Visual Studio 2005 when they have restricted disk space available on their system drive. I had well over 1 Gb of space on my c drive. And I had another 15Gb on two more drives. My first attempt to install SP1 was long, drawn out and fruitless. Eventually, I figured out that I had insufficient disk space. So I unpacked the Service Pack into a newly created folder (on a drive with oodles of space) and watched that fail too. You might think that an installer that needs a lot of disk space could check to see if the disk space is available or that it might let you choose where it creates its working files – maybe in the next version. After a little light googling, I came across an answer, thanks to Heath Stewart. It works. I am forever grateful – and hopeful that SP2 is a little easier to install.

Written by remark

February 6, 2007 at 3:30 pm

Leave a Reply

