Re.Mark

My Life As A Blog

Django Bells

with 4 comments

Having been through the whole Django tutorial now, I’ve started to explore on my own.  What I’ve done so far has felt fairly intuitive.  I haven’t done enough to feel like I know what I’m doing, but at the same time I feel a lot more comfortable than I have with other frameworks at the same stage.
At this point I like to read a book to get more detail.  And guess what?  I found one on-line – The Django Book.  Haven’t had a chance to look at it in too much depth yet, but the fact that you can see other reader’s comments about the text is interesting – and should provide a more rounded view.  That’s my Christmas reading sorted out.

Written by remark

December 10, 2006 at 7:23 pm

Posted in Development, Software

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. So why Django rather than RoR?

    Marc

    December 11, 2006 at 9:37 am

  2. Good question. Here are some reasons I prefer Django over Ruby on Rails (in no particular order):
    – I think I could write a web application more quickly in Django.
    – I prefer the model to database approach of Django over the database to model approach of RoR.
    – I like the way Django lets you specify the URL patterns.
    – I really like the free admin functionality.
    – I prefer Python syntax to Ruby syntax.
    – Pida works for me, I couldn’t find a tool for RoR that I liked – RadRails was as close as I got, but it felt too heavy.
    – I feel like I understand how Django is working, whereas I feel like there’s a bunch of magic in RoR.

    I think they’re both important frameworks. I’d like to spend more time with both, but limited time and all means I need to focus on one. What’s your take?

    P.S. I found this article to be an interesting comparison of Django and RoR.

    remark

    December 11, 2006 at 11:20 pm

  3. Interesting – I’ll have a proper look at Django at some point. I actually like the ‘magic’ bit in RoR. So long as it works, I don’t much care how…

    Marc

    December 12, 2006 at 9:50 am

  4. Oh – for RoR tool – take a look at http://www.sapphiresteel.com

    Marc

    December 12, 2006 at 9:55 am


Leave a Reply

