Re.Mark

My Life As A Blog

Live Writer

with 2 comments

Microsoft have released a beta version of Live Writer. I read about it here and here, and you can download the beta here. I am using Live Writer for this post. The interface is, as you’d expect, okay looking and fairly intuitive. I tend to use Perfomancing for Firefox for my posts (you can get version 1.3 here) – which, being a Firefox plugin, is cross-platform. Both are easy to set up (getting spellchecking working in Performancing for Firefox was a little tricky, details here, while LiveWriter’s spellchecking lacks an ‘Ignore All’ function) and both have comparable features. The preview available in Live Writer is very good (although no better than WordPress) – not so impressed with the Web Layout view. Will I use it? Sometimes, maybe. There’s no compelling feature that makes it a must have, yet. And its Windows only (which means I can’t use it for Martini blogging – anytime, anyplace, anywhere.)

Written by remark

August 15, 2006 at 1:27 pm

Posted in General, Tools

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Actually, Writer’s Ignore *is* Ignore All. Weird, huh?

    Joe Cheng

    August 15, 2006 at 8:33 pm

  2. Thanks for the info, Joe. When I think about it, I usually want to Ignore All – so this makes some sort of sense. However, I’m used to having the Ignore (Once) and Ignore All.

    remark

    August 17, 2006 at 10:01 pm


Leave a Reply

